Monday Munch

Mon Dec 13, 2010 8:56 am

I'll start by providing a little background about myself. I work as a project manager for a big technology firm (human network) in the delivery services area. The customers for my patch are all federal government. I've been playing guitar since the mid '60s. My first electric was a Silvertone semi-hollowbody guitar and a Silvertone Solid State Amp. Both were crappy, but I was thrilled to get them. It took a few years but I upgraded to a Vox Spitfire guitar and a Vox Pathfinder amp that I purchased from an uncle who kept it under his bed. For those not familiar, the spitfire was the Vox version of the Strat. The Pathfinder was a solid state amp but had a decent tone to it. The tone was just very clean. I managed to sell that guitar and purchase a Gibson SG Jr with the plastic covered single coil pickups. I loved that guitar and played it for several years through a Kustom 150 4x10 combo amp. Again, solid state, but much better tone than anything I had previously owed. The next evolution of tone was a 1975 Strat, brand new, through a Fender Twin Reverb equipped with JBLs. This amp was loud! It had a master volume so you could dial up some grit, but those JBLs just weren't going to distort much. I ended up trading that amp towards a 50-Watt Marshall Super Lead head and a 2x12 cabinet with Celestion speakers. That was the tone combination! That strat, through that head and cab was magical. I played that rig for probably 12 years and nothing else.