BBE Compresor Pedals

Tue Jan 10, 2012 7:32 am

Anyone had the opportunity to try both the Opto Stomp and the Bench Press. From what I can gather the Opto Stomp is very transparent. The literature for it refers to "soft knee compression" what the heck is that?

The Bench Press is based on the Ross compressor. I do not know what the Ross compressor sounds like, why it's famous and who used them but apparently it is the holy grail of compressor pedals.

I want one for clean country hybrid picking.

Anythoughts or advice?

Thanks for you input.

Re: BBE Compresor Pedals

Tue Jan 10, 2012 8:38 am

asphalt-abate wrote:The literature for it refers to "soft knee compression" what the heck is that?

Tom,

I have no experience with the BBE Opto Stomp nor bench Press using a Carl Martin myself. But Wikipedia can explain the concept of 'soft knee' very well in their article on compression. Better than I could in my own words ;) And they show a nice graph somewhat in the middle where they show the difference between hard and soft knees. All you need to know is that soft-knee compression is more 'pleasant' because transitions are smoothed out.

Hope this helps,

- Jos

Tue Jan 10, 2012 6:09 pm

Jos:

It helps greatly. I didn't even think about trying Wikipedia.

There's a lot of good info in the article. I think the Opto Stomp might be the better of the two pedals for my needs. By the way, I still want first rights to that black-orange burst ASAT if you ever decide to sell. And I'm local too! That's a beautiful guitar.

Thank you for the help.

Tom

Tue Jan 10, 2012 9:34 pm

Just in case anyone is interested. I found this tone comparison of a riff with a Ross compressor and without a Ross compressor. Scince the Bench Press is modeled after the Ross compressor it may be useful to someone considering a purchase of a Bench Press. Scoll down the page a ways to find the tone samples.

http://phishthoughts.com/2008/12/18/the ... ompressor/