Brunch Report, Thursday March 18, 2010

Thu Mar 18, 2010 7:35 am

Alright gang..it's Thursday, one more day until the weekend!

So, from the poll yesterday it looks like most of us are self taught, a few have had formal lessons, and 1 uses guitars as fashion accessories. :D

Here's a topic to mull over. Do you think it's better to have formal training, or learn on your own? On one hand you'll get up to speed faster with an instructor, but I wonder if being self taught affords you a certain "creativity" with your instrument. What do ya'll think?

Also.....How's the music scene in your area? What type of music is predominate where you live?
For those that gig, do ya'll find it harder to find gigs due to the current economy?

Obligatory G&L content.

We go on and on about what we love about the classic G&L's, but...
Is there anything you DON'T like about the classic G&L instruments??

For Lunch today, I think I'm going to make a run for chinese.
Along with Italian, Chinese is right up there with my favorite foods. There's no shortage of good Chinese restaurants near work. There's a really good buffet at a place called China One. I'll probalby hit there today.

I look forward to your responses gang!

Re: Brunch Report, Thursday March 18, 2010

Thu Mar 18, 2010 8:11 am

I think your learning style has something to do with which method works best. I'm primarily self taught but I will admit the most rewarding times of growth have been
those rare opportunities with a teacher or master class. I recently had a private lesson with Corey Christiansen. Monster jazz player. In two minutes he analyzed why my descending runs were so much weaker than ascending runs.....my pick technique. He also gave me some targeting exercises that are helping me play it less safe and incorporate new notes in my lines. Really, really time and $ well spent.