Hi, a new member here!

Wed Dec 18, 2013 9:22 pm

Greetings everyone,

I have been reading posts on this forum on-and-off for a couple of years and finally registered today to answer someone's question. I have been playing the guitar (classical, blues, rock) for 20+ years, and am a proud owner of a U.S.A. Legacy, which I had custom-made in late 2009. Among the less common options, it has a modern V-neck, vintage frets. It also has a plain white pickguard, so it's almost like a Fullerton model. I think it has a beautiful sound and is just lovely to play and look at, so my wife has been jealous for 4+ years now.

I am using this opportunity to thank you all for providing such a great place to visit. :clap: Since I generally do my own setups and like to experiment a lot, I found tech tips and discussion on this forum very valuable. Other times, I just like to look at other beautiful G&L guitars to relax.

For those of you who have experience with wood grains, I think my guitar presents an interesting case to ask a perennial favorite small-talk question: - Is this an alder or ash body? I know it's a weird question in the case of a guitar custom-ordered by me; I ordered alder back then (didn't have a strong preference), and since I ordered a standard finish (3t sb), based on all this, it's very unlikely that it is ash. However, the wood grains are more pronounced than in a typical alder body, so I edited the registry entry multiple times going back and forth between alder and swamp ash. I personally don't really care much which one it is, but it might be useful to give it the accurate description in the registry.

Cheers!

An here are the pics of the modern V-neck and the fretboard I posted on another topic. I like this neck very much.

Last edited by predator on Thu Dec 19, 2013 11:36 am, edited 4 times in total.

Re: Hi, a new member here!

Wed Dec 18, 2013 11:16 pm

Hello,