Hi from the old world

Thu Nov 28, 2013 5:34 pm

Hi you G&L enthusiasts, who keep this forum alive and provide help to all of us G&L
newbies.
In the past year I looked for information on my guitars several times and almost all of my
questions could be answered with your help. To give back some of this spirit I thought it
might be time to introduce myself and tell you my little story - how I started playing
guitar, how I came across G&L instruments and so on. Maybe you enjoy this or your story
is similar - anyway. This is me:
Some 45 years ago as a kid I took part in a celebration of my school. I saw some guys
playing electric guitars and instantly I felt I want to know how to make music like this.
Next christmas my parents bought an acoustic guitar with nylon strings and presented it
to me. For about half a year I took lessons. After that I was fed up playing waltz themes
and learning german folk songs composed hundreds of years ago taught by a teacher who
- in my imagination - must have known the composeres personally - and I quit.

I went for modern music and looked for a modern teacher. I found one, playing rock and
looking like my long haired guitar heroes. First thing he did was upgrading my guitar with
steel strings - I felt I was on my way to become a star. Next thing I felt were the blisters
on my finger tips. The neck of my warehouse acoustic did not accept the change of my
musical orientation and went skydiving faced with the load of the steel strings. Again I
realized the road was rougher, than I thought it would be. And I would quit again.

A couple of years later I bought a reasonably priced (this means CHEAP) 12 string western
guitar made by EKO, an italian company. Just played some strumming on that, listening to
the songs of John Denver, Crosby Stills Nash and so forth. There was no internet where
nowadays you can find the lyrics, no youtube to easily find free lessons showing which