New g&l owner and a few questions

Tue Nov 26, 2013 7:04 am

Hi everybody and thanks for this fantastic board devoted to g&l. I’m a new proud owner of a USA ASAT deluxe but, I’m an inexperienced guitar player and new to G&L so I can use some advice from you guys.

I learned about G&L not long ago searching in the internet for a HH telecaster guitar type, I started playing a few months ago and never touched a real quality guitar, so when I saw a very good deal on a used American g&l deluxe I decided to pull the trigger and buy it, even knowing that I’m miles away to really squeeze all the good things from such a guitar.
The former owner was not a prolific player also I guess, the guitar was missing a string and the remaining strings were rusted to dead, so most likely the guitar was sitting in a closet for years.

I Cleaned the guitar and replaced the strings, with 10-46. The guitar resonates loudly and you can feel the quality of the woods, but it’s probably missing a good setup, as string tension seems to high, giving it a “hard” feeling (compared to another 25’5 guitar I have also with 10-46 strings). Also the action is not bad, but I feel it could be a lot better for such a quality guitar, my other guitar, a mim made stratocaster has lower action. ¿Will a good setup make the strings feel softer with same gauge? Or is just how the guitar should feel. The nut feels like good material, but the strings seems to be “buried” in the string rails, not sure if this is how American g&l nuts are cut by default.

Last question, while the maple top in the guitar is beautiful, it’s natural finished, so the guitar looks a little bit bland (with maple neck also). Do you know guys if it is possible to refinish only the top? Changing to a sunburst, or prs-like finish In a bright color I think will make the guitar look a lot better, but I rather let it stay as it is than paying a ton for a complete re-finish.