Introduction

Wed Apr 24, 2013 8:29 pm

Hello,

My name is Matt and I've been playing mostly for hobby for about 25 years. I'm primarily an acoustic player, as I like the funkiness and character I can add to my music with the acoustic. I have a few electrics as well, including an ASAT Z3.

I joined in hope of getting some advice on my Z3. I custom-ordered an ASAT Z3 in spring of '05. At the time, I was in a SRV phase and I ordered the guitar with jumbo frets. I also ordered it with a basswood body, bird's-eye maple neck, locking tuners, and a color-matched headstock. It's an absolutely beautiful instrument in terms of tone and quality; however, I find that I after 8 years I've probably only played it a few times. I don't like the jumbo frets and the body--which is supposed to be light--is extremely heavy...probably heavier than a Les Paul.

I've finally decided to sell it and order a different one, or get a lighter body and have it re-fretted. A little background - I tore a disc in my low back and cannot shoulder much weight for much time. That's a big reason why I'm after a lighter body. Anyhow, I'm dead-set on playing my next G&L guitar before ordering it, as I learned my lesson with the Z3. The biggest problem I'm having is that I live in a remote area and the handful of G&L dealers within a day drive of me don't have a USA-made ASAT for me to play. I'm interested in getting a Classic or another Z3, but I cannot seem to locate one and I'm worried about being able to get a decent price for mine. Any thoughts or suggestions are appreciated.

Regards,

Matt

Re: Introduction

Wed Apr 24, 2013 9:06 pm