Howdy from Indiana

Sat Apr 20, 2013 2:24 pm

Just bought my first G&L, a Tribute Invader. Been picking on a Starcaster Strat, but that will go in the closet after picking on the Invader. I am a real newbie at guitar. I'm not looking to join a band, just pick a few tunes to amuse me and the wife, and the grandkids 8-)
I'm 55 and working my butt off 6/week, 8 or 10 hours a day, so practice time is really valuable to me.
I am having problems in learning though. My teacher has me doing pentatonics and nothing else. I've been taking classes for over 4 months now. Much of the time in class is spent jabbering.

Any suggestions on how an old man with poor memory and eyesight can learn to play blues?

Any help would really be appreciated.

Re: Howdy from Indiana

Sat Apr 20, 2013 2:38 pm

are these private lessons? i would suggest a new teacher who will actually teach.

Sat Apr 20, 2013 2:45 pm

Yep, private, one on one lessons. Teacher is nice guy, who plays in various blues bands. We just aren't meshing on the learning thing.

Sat Apr 20, 2013 2:46 pm

you need a good teacher, and not a nice guy. just because someone can play, that doesn't mean they can teach as well.

Sat Apr 20, 2013 2:47 pm

where are you located?

Sat Apr 20, 2013 4:26 pm

Columbus

Sat Apr 20, 2013 5:41 pm

I'm kinda doing the same thing as you .... other than I'm not a total newbe , been chord jammimg a long time , just play at home for the most part , I'll turn 52 this year and just decided to try to learn lead guitar ......

first off even though I'm new on this site , i've been here long enough to know that Lois is one smart guy and I take his advice strongly and you should too ....