NGD - 1980 G&L L-1000

Mon Feb 18, 2013 10:05 am

Greetings from Scotland!

Hi my name is Murray, and I'm a new G&L owner.

I'd like to thank all contributors to the discussion pages on here. I read through your posts extensively to research the early model L-1000 bass prior to making the seller of this one an offer...which he accepted!

It's already been on recordings and it'll definitely be out gigging in my home city of Aberdeen in the not too distant future. I'm a guitarist, but for our new band we settled on the format of a power trio so I needed a bass...and what a bass I've got!

It's a 1980 L-1000 in metallic blue (Lake Placid Blue?) over mahogany with the ebony fingerboard. She appears to be in mostly original condition, and came with the original G&G short hair case. Chrome bridge with B001877 serial, chrome control plate, manufacturers date codes on the pots of 8029/8022/7919, neck stamp 29 Aug 1980, skunk stripe on neck and Schaller stamped tuners. Overall its in great condition and I feel I've bought a vintage Fender instrument without the Pre-CBS price tag!