My First Post.

Fri Jun 22, 2012 5:48 am

Hiya folks!
I found this site last night and am stoked to join the forum.
A little background; I'm New to G&L guitars but not to guitars in general. After a 25 year break from playing in garage bands I returned 4 years ago to Open Mic nights and eventually on to solo gigs. I now play 4 nights a week at 4 seperate venues. After much experimentation my weapon of choice is a Martin D15 because of it's incredible sound and rock solid staying in tune under ANY weather/temp conditions. But last year I was in search of an electric guitar with more versitility. I bought an Ibanez semi hollowbody that played well but even after a professional set up including a bone nut it would not stay in tune. I admit I'm a heavy handed strummer but my Martin takes it exceptionally well. Anyway, I recently ordered a G&L Legacy Tribute Strat and am eagerly awaiting its arrival from the factory. I'm a lefty who plays standard righty guitars. I just hold it lefty (upside down) withgout re-stringing. I've always wanted to own a real "lefty" guitar so that the vol/tone knobs were out of the way when playing. Color is important too. My dealer called me and said lefty version only comes in Blue Burst this year. PERFECT! My favorite color. My Legacy Tribute should arrive any day now and I can hardly wait. When it comes I'll have to re-string it Righty. My only concern is that it stays in tune well.
I'll post pix when she's all set up.
Thanks for listening,
Dana Lewis

Re: My First Post.

Fri Jun 22, 2012 8:54 pm

Welcome Dana! I don't have personal experience with any Tribbies, but may older G&Ls usually stay perfectly in tune - even if they've been in the case for weeks or months.

Did you have the nut slotted for a righty (so that you can string it upside-down), or are you planning to pull the nut out and turn it around?

Ken

Fri Jun 22, 2012 9:57 pm

Dana Lewis wrote:Hiya folks!
I found this site last night and am stoked to join the forum.