Hi from jh, builder 1980- 1981.

Sun Jun 10, 2012 10:48 pm

Just thought I'd pop in and say hi.
I was a builder at G&L in 1980 and 1981.
I used to sometimes mark the pick-up and control plate holes
with jh in cursive style, FWIW. I was on the other site today and saw that
someone had kept a hang tag, with my signature,from all those years ago
and a flood of memories came back.

Re: Hi from jh, builder 1980- 1981.

Sun Jun 10, 2012 11:20 pm

A big Welcome Jhana,
I bet some of my old G&L's have a jh somewhere, I'll keep a keen eye out for that.
I know a job can be just a job, but being at G&L in the early years must have been
pretty cool.
cheers,
Elwood

Mon Jun 11, 2012 3:28 pm

Welcome, Jhana!

I will keep an eye out for your initials on my early G&Ls too. I have some July '80 case candy, which I will check for a hang tag. I have three instruments built when you were there (an '80 L-1000 and F-100, and an '81 L-2000). Those are some of the best instruments I've ever played. Actually, it's a toss-up between the two basses for the best instrument I've ever played. They are phenomenal.

I think I can speak for the majority of board participants when I say: Stories! Please, please, stories!!!

Ken

Mon Jun 11, 2012 3:37 pm

Elwood wrote:A big Welcome Jhana,
I bet some of my old G&L's have a jh somewhere, I'll keep a keen eye out for that.
I know a job can be just a job, but being at G&L in the early years must have been
pretty cool.
cheers,
Elwood

It was really cool, and I have quite a few stories that are pretty funny.
Someone got my info from here and contacted me about interviewing me for a book on Leo's post Fender years.
I'll have to tell him about working on James Burton's paisley Teles and the tricks
we (Tom Kjellin and I) played on him in final assembly(all in fun), Leo giving me a MM bass one day when I admired the
ebony fretboard (he was very generous with his people), Leo asking to borrow my old Tele while he was designing
the next model...