Hope I'm more successful with the new to me G&L than....

Wed Oct 13, 2010 2:01 pm

...loggin into the G&LPD discussion page! First, thanks Craig for
navigating me through the maze, Second, thank whoever is responsible that there IS a forum to share ideas/info/developments in the field of owning/playing/enjoying the G&L products!

About me--if you care--I'm a newbie (not young enough to have gotten the 'itch' from a computer game by the same name) but being a "Guitar Hero" for my own sense of self satisfaction is something I've longed for. I'm a buck novice. I'll be trying the formidable task of not only trying to learn to play but to figure out what pickup does what sound and when to use it!

So I'd like to ask the rank and file to comment if they're willing how best to learn be it on my new to me Comanche, (or any rig) and once I've got the fundamentals down what can and cannot realistically be played on a Stratocaster based instrument like the Comanche.

Look forward to reading at length about tuning, lead riffs, string choice, etc with that "deer in the headlights" look until I get a little up to speed.

So the sooner you suggest a plan or program to start my learning (You Tube even?) the sooner I can start--trying to use my age and experience wisely by doing it right the first time as far as learning guitar goes.

Thanks,

Russell Moss
Springfield, OR

Re: Hope I'm more successful with the new to me G&L than....

Wed Oct 13, 2010 2:47 pm

Welcome Russell,

I don't know where it hides, but there is a huge article about the pickups on a commanche, from what I gather it is not what can they do, but what can't they do. They are supposed to be an extremely versatile guitar. I don't have a commanche though ,so cannot help you there. My G&L is a arrived yesterday ASAT special w/ the works (custom build).