Just discovered G&L

Wed Oct 07, 2020 2:05 pm

Any suggestions on the best amplifiers or any tips and tricks are appreciated. I usually play with Elixirs, but see that it's strung with D'addario.

I've been playing for 22 years and have generally avoided more expensive guitars, as I found they generally didn't outperform mid-range guitars as much as desired (if at all). I own one Fender American Strat that I picked up for a steal on Craigslist by sending low ball prices to sellers. Eventually I had a guy message me a month later and I picked it up for $650. If I recall correctly, MSRP for the guitar was like $1200.

I used to own an expensive Gibson SG, but was generally underwhelmed with it's tone and sold it. I also own an expensive Taylor acoustic which is the biggest waste of money I've ever plopped down. My ~$600 Alverez blows the Taylor out of the water.

Thus, I've generally steered clear of higher end guitars because I tended to find there were some great guitars around the $500 to $600 level. I own a Squier tele with humbuckers, and it's one of the best feeling guitars I've ever owned. I also have a mid-range Epiphone ES 335.

About two weeks ago I was watching videos on the Anderson's YouTube channel. There was a blind single-coil vs humbucker test of a bunch of different guitars on a clean flat EQ. One guitar absolutely blew me away with it's full mid-range and brightness. It looked like a Strat, but I could tell the logo was different so I stopped to figure out who this manufacturer was. I had never heard of G&L before this, and I am not sure how.

I ended up finding the model was a Comanche, started looking at prices and did something I never do: I spent about $1500 (10% off sale luckily) without having played the guitar at all. Probably not a smart move but the reviews were great and I figured it would have a similar feel to my Strat (though the neck circumference is definitely bigger). I was really just in love with it's tone.