Hello

Sun Jun 21, 2020 2:42 pm

Hi all, I'm a 30-something musician from Scotland, play bass in my band and also play a few other instruments (mainly guitar & synth - at the moment I've got more synths than mixer channels...).

I was introduced to G&L in 2003. My first bass, bought a couple of years earlier, was a MIM Fender Jazz - after a couple of years of gigging it was already starting to fall apart (it really wasn't up to much) & I wanted to replace it with something professional. A friend of my dad's had bought an L2000 in the late 80s for a band he'd joined. He said the band lasted for about two weeks then he'd left it in the case ever since. Got a really good deal on it as a result & obviously was in a good state of repair as it had barely been used. Had to replace the battery connection as he'd left a battery in it for 15 years! But other than that, once it was set up it played like I dream and I've used it regularly ever since (despite these days having a decent array of basses, I still keep going back to it).

I found the forum when I was trying to research the origins of my bass (probably like a lot of you). Seems to have been made around 88/ 89 from what I can tell - finish is a kind of dark-amber sunburst and aside the one repair I've made, think it's entirely stock/ typical of the period it was made.

Otherwise, I played a 2nd-hand Asat (with P90s) in a guitar shop once - just couldn't afford to buy it at the time but I've been on a mission to find once ever since as it was an absolute dream to play.

Re: Hello

Sun Jun 21, 2020 4:57 pm

Hi CritiqueOblique :greet:

Welcome and way cool story of how you came about yer L2000. Those will play about anything you can imagine. Post pics when you can, we love seeing fellow G&L‘s in the wild.

Come around often, lots of friendly and knowledgeable folks round here.

Look forward to seeing the ASAT which I’m sure will come soon! :thumbup:

Mon Jun 22, 2020 5:47 am

Thanks for the friendly reply Sam!