Hiya, looong-time lurker, can't believe I've not done intro!

Tue Apr 14, 2020 9:18 am

Hi, beedubyuh here. I've been a lurker on GbL for 10-15 years, I think? Maybe longer. I thought I had posted a bit over the years, but maybe not, maybe that was another forum. I know I've bought stuff from the Marketplace. Anyways, here goes.

I started playing at the age of 30 (mid 40's now), taking lessons at the Old Town School of Folk Music in Chicago. Having a late start, I set a goal for myself to get in a band and play gigs around the city. Early on I switched my focus from guitar to bass, since the "looking for a..." ads were always looking for bass and drums, seems no one needs another guitar player ; )

I succeeded, playing in a few bands over the years, most notably the Pralines (alt-country) and Daemon Familiar (power pop). Made a lot of great friends and memories along the way. DF is still kicking, but we're easily the oldest among the regulars at the practice space, which amuses us to no end. Also most of the venues we had connections with have gone under (Double Door!), so we rarely gig out these days. We were working on a 3rd album, polishing material, talking about scheduling studio time, but that's all on hold now, possibly forever, who knows?

Almost from the start I played G&L guitars and basses. I have tried out so many others, but always come back to G&L. They are just the best for me. I've built up a nice little collection over the years, most of which I dutifully registered here, so you can check 'em out, if you wish. I'm actually starting to downsize these days, just so much equipment that rarely gets used. Also, my wife and I are planning to move from Chicago to Japan in the next year, so the less stuff to have the better. Of course that plan is also on hold for now as we wait to see what the new world looks like.

This is a great website, a great resource, I am so appreciative of the folks who have contributed to it. Thx!