Good day folks - (potential) new owner checking in!

Tue Feb 25, 2020 1:59 pm

Believe it or not, I leave in 10 minutes to go pick up a G&L Legacy Tribute from a FB marketplace ad.

I've been a LP guy for years and wanted a change - so I started looking at Fender Strat's.... and I saw some with this weird trem system.... which ended up being the G&L!

Years ago when I started playing I had a strat copy and always wondered why they didn't update the six screw trem system (which I now see they did - but not as nicely as the G&L!). I've always liked the simplicity of the pickguard/pickup system for modding (I'm a tinkerer by nature)..

So - I found this guitar locally and did a bunch of research last night - and here I am!

I'll post some pics when I get home - assuming everything goes well!

Re: Good day folks - (potential) new owner checking in!

Tue Feb 25, 2020 3:27 pm

Welcome,
Hope you find a keeper, looking forward to pics.
Elwood

Tue Feb 25, 2020 5:47 pm

Ohh so very nice... I'm going to like this guitar. I need to replace the strings tonight (g-string is missing)... Loving the matte neck finish!

Here are pics he had posted... I'll snap some later when I do the string swap.

He added a G&L Logo Backplate, Hipshot Locking Tuners, Brass Nut and Graphtech saddles... Its a 2016 model.

Tue Feb 25, 2020 7:33 pm

hmm... So I just finished setting it up.... trem wasnt level - so I fixed that..

Bummer though - whoever cut the brass nut - the bottom string slot is too wide - so it buzzes like crazy. Going to have to buy a new nut - probably go back to graphtech.

Wed Feb 26, 2020 7:40 am

Welcome Escher! That is a fine looking Legacy with some nice upgrades. When I first saw the picture I thought it was transparent blond. That white looks really good and it has some nice upgrades. Looks like a real keeper once you get the nut fixed.

Again welcome and jump in often!

Cheers, Dan

Wed Feb 26, 2020 8:26 am