Hello from (almost) Philadelphia

Thu Aug 01, 2019 1:03 pm

Hi Everyone-
I have been playing just for fun about 50 years now and keep a bunch of guitars and guitar "projects" in the basement along with a few keybaords and a '51 hammond M3 organ. About fifteen years ago I left a black (modified with a "S-tastic" second 5 way switch) " Made in Japan" Fender Stratocaster with my brother on the West coast with the understanding that It should come back to me if he ever got tired of playing it. Turns out his son (my nephew) learned how to play guitar and started writing and performing music. When he left home for the great Northwest to pursue his dream the black Stratocaster went with him. Totally Awesome that the Strat is being well used and well loved.

But... it started me thinking that the only way I'll ever see that Strat again is when I go to see him play.
That started a longing for a Strat style guitar to round out my herd. I started looking at fenders and the many alternatives including the G&L Legacy- American made with a "pre-CBS" pedigree from Leo Fender himself.
That led me to check out the whole G&L line-up and it didn't take me long to come across the S 500 with it's MFD single coil pickups and additional pickup selector options that included the best combinations from the modifications I made to that black Stratocaster. When I started looking at the S-500 options for wood and finishes I found i could order a Swamp Ash body[ with Maple neck. That is a combination that I have on two 8M serial1978 Peavey T-60 guitars and a T-40 bass ( I love everything about the old Peaveys (except the weight ! )

So the search was on for an S-500 maple neck and swamp ash body. I was surprised to see how these guitars held their value- it seems as though the used USA G&L guitars were only a few hundred bucks less than a new guitar.