Greetings From the Left Coast

Thu Jan 10, 2019 11:55 am

Wanted to take a few minutes to say hello from out here on the left coast, Ventura, California. I’ve been reading this forum for quite a few months and enjoy all of the great posts, especially the CLF Research content. Thanks Craig for posting those!
I've been a long time G&L fan but only recently have I owned a real G&L. I've been playing guitar for 23 years now. Started at 15 with MIM Strat, still have it and still love it. I play various styles from rock, country, and jazz to fingerstyle acoustic. Mostly in garage bands and at home.
I always loved Robert Poss' SC-1s but for me a two pickup guitar is a requirement, so the SC-2 has been on my radar for quite a while. This past December I was able to get a Fullerton Red SC-2 with a trem. Shortly after that I pulled the trigger on a non-trem Himalaya Blue SC-2. These are great guitars and I've been having a ton of fun learning how to use the MFD pickups. Quite dynamic.
Prior to getting these guitars, I built a partcaster with Z coils. Love this guitar as well. I took an unfinished strat body from Tone Bomb. Applied a burned finish (blow torch style) plus tru oil and renaissance wax. Installed the z coils on a custom pickguard, no trem plus a rolling bender along the G&L style PTB. Neck is a roasted maple with rosewood warmoth neck, compound radius (10-16) and their standard thin neck. Photos galleries attached for all.

http://imgur.com/gallery/OOT8pvk

http://imgur.com/gallery/K8Hv9H1

http://imgur.com/gallery/HMPSdFg

Re: Greetings From the Left Coast

Wed Apr 03, 2019 1:11 pm

Welcome to the forum! Nice looking guitars! That Comanche style partscaster looks great!