Greetings and Salutations!

Mon May 21, 2018 1:07 pm

It's time for the classic introductory post!

Hi! My name's George, aka GVDub, and I've been playing guitar for over half a century. I'm also a tech geek who writes about guitars and gear for a living. Been working in the MI (musical instrument, for the uninitiated) industry for over 30 years, between working in retail music and for manufacturers (Midiman/M-Audio, Line 6 and others).

Haven't owned a G&L up to this point, but after having spent the last several days with a loaner Fullerton Standard Legacy in Ruby Red Metallic, that may be changing very soon. Even got pre-approval from the comptroller (aka my wife) for the purchase after she heard me play it on a gig this last weekend.

Re: Greetings and Salutations!

Mon May 21, 2018 2:11 pm

Welcome George!

Haven't owned a G&L up to this point, but after having spent the last several days with a loaner Fullerton Standard Legacy in Ruby Red Metallic, that may be changing very soon. Even got pre-approval from the comptroller (aka my wife) for the purchase after she heard me play it on a gig this last weekend.

I think you will be very happy with the Legacy. Probably wise to get pre-approval...

Cheers, Dan

Wed May 23, 2018 11:01 am

welcome to the group. The Legacy is a very versatile guitar. Post some pics please.

Tom

Wed May 23, 2018 1:19 pm

I did pull the trigger on the very guitar I'd gotten to review. It was one of those times when the instrument just said, "You and me, buddy. That's all there is to it." The clincher was playing it at the gig Saturday night and not only having an inspired night, but having folks in the audience and in the band tell me how great it sounded. My main "S-Type" has been a '65 that I've owned since 1976, so I appreciate the combination of the vintage sound of the alnico pickkups, the flexiility of the PTB system and the incredible playability and fit and finish of the Legacy.