Greetings. New guy here

Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:32 am

Greetings,

I've been playing since 1984 and play Les Pauls mostly with a Strat thrown in. Every few years I go through phases where I like to check out different guitars and what not. I've gone through Charvel, PRS, Ibanez and some other stuff, but recently got a used G&L Legacy (USA) that came with Seymour Duncan rail pickups. A previous owner screwed in wood blocks around the tremolo bridge, essentially making it a fixed bridge. It's going back to Guitar Center, but the guitar itself....I really liked. The neck was perfection for me and even with what appeared to be a lacquer finish, was beautifully smooth. The guitar has some nice heft to it. I'm not crazy about the SD rails, but I love the playability of the guitar.

I've researching G&L guitars obsessively, learning about options and different pickups. I've never owned a "custom" guitar before, but WANT A CUSTOM G&L! The G&L I'm "borrowing" from Guitar Center really is a revelation in fine craftsmanship and what a Stratocaster type guitar can be.
Last edited by rauchman on Tue Feb 13, 2018 12:28 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Re: Greetings. New guy here

Tue Feb 13, 2018 11:40 am

Welcome and good for you. It's always good to look around. I discovered G&L while looking for a vintage Fender Mustang and never looked back. Still don't have that mustang but I have quite a few guitars actually made while Leo Fender was making them. The last true Fender guitars. Play some other G&L's and see if you can find some Leo era ones to check out. You will be quite surprised at the quality and playability of any of them. I would also recommend the Comanche. I just picked up two of them and can't get enough time to play them, they have an amazing amount of different tones available. A most versatile guitar for sure.

Keep us posted on what you end up with and again, welcome to the forum.

Tom

Tue Feb 13, 2018 12:29 pm