New user, new to guitars at the age of 70

Wed Jul 12, 2017 3:50 pm

Greetings; call me jvlc, I am new to this or any forum. I have been a percussionist off and on for 40 years, not my profession. At the young age of 70 I just started to learn the guitar about 2 months ago. Bought a fender acoustic/Electric and an fender acoustatronic 100 amp.
I am a retired disabled veteran. After much investigating, I have become extremely interested in the USA G & L.
Over the years I have learned not to underbuy, therefore I am seriously considering a "Comanche". You sure could say I am overbuying I guess. None the less I am interested in you all's thoughts on this.

Re: New user, new to guitars at the age of 70

Wed Jul 12, 2017 4:08 pm

Howdy jvlc, :wave:

Welcome to the GLDP world and the land of guitars! Your decision not "to underbuy" will go a long way in the G&L world based on guitar quality and bang for the buck dollar value.

While I am a big fan of the Comanche (own two ASAT's with same PUP options), and think you would be in good hands with that model, try as many models as possible before buying. The Z Coil pups do have a tone different from typical pups and the PTB gives a cool flavor. If you have a G&L dealer close by, and can try out as many different models as possible, you may find another G&L model you like. BUT, if you are truly drawn to the Comanche, that guitar can cover lots of ground. :elguitar054:

Thank you for your service. :thumbup:

Wed Jul 12, 2017 10:03 pm

hi jvlc
comanche is a very exciting/satisfying guitar. lots of different tones in there with the 7 pickup combinations.
very quiet pickups, but relatively high output.
craftsmanship on the usa made guitars is outstanding.
love the PTB circuit/tone controls and the quality of the bridge/tailpiece.
worthy of your consideration. happy shopping!

Thu Jul 13, 2017 5:17 pm

Well, as a vet, you may hold a special appreciation for the early naming convention of G&L guitars.