Introduction and GbL LE question

Sat Aug 06, 2016 5:13 pm

Hi, my name is Mike Pugh, and I'm a guitarist and producer in Northern Virginia...my production company is named Goose Creek Music. I have admired G&Ls for many years, but unfortunately do not own one.

My dear friend Dick Thaxter was a big fan of G&Ls, and passed away late last year. I'm helping his wife sort through all the guitars and gear, and came across his GbL limited edition from 1999...I tracked it down to this forum, and read the awesome story of how the guitars were produced by G&L for forum members. Dick registered his instrument in this forum, it is listed as number 11 of 25.

I met Dick almost 20 years ago through rec.music.makers.guitars.acoustic, where he was a beloved friend and resource for many people...I'm certain he had many friends here as well.

My job is to establish a fair value for the instrument, and find it a good home...if you can help in that regard, please feel free to contact me directly. I'd also love to hear from any of Dick's friends here...he was a wonderful guy, and I miss him terribly.

Thanks,

Mike

Re: Introduction and GbL LE question

Tue Aug 09, 2016 6:50 am

Mike, sorry to hear about the loss of your friend.

I've never seen or heard an LE in person, but I have read they were fine sweet guitars. As for value, I can't really help you. I haven't ever seen on come up for sale. Others on here maybe able help. I'd check the guitar blue book.

If it does go for sale I hope at least it could be listed in the marketplace here.

Again sorry for your loss.

Dan

Tue Aug 09, 2016 9:19 am

Hi Mike,

I'm am sorry for the loss of your friend.

As always depending on the condition and market demand prices will fluctuate. I don't have a Bluebook price, but a quick internet search found one that sold last year for about $1700.00 shipped.

As Dan mentioned, we do have the GbL Marketplace where I am sure you will find a buyer if you choose to sell it.

Tue Aug 09, 2016 8:19 pm