Greetings from Tx! I hope to be a G&L owner soon..have ?'s

Thu May 13, 2010 2:20 pm

Hello everyone, I'm John. I'm from Texas and have long been a fan of these guitars. A friend is trading me his Jeff Beck strat for a Yamaha semi-hollow I had. After A/B'ing the Beck strat to a standard G&L Legacy, the Legacy won hands down. So, I'm gonna sell the Beck and get one. But I kind of want a Legacy Special for the pickups and locking tuners. Does anyone have one with a rosewood neck they'd care to sell me? ;-) I'll post that in the questions part of the forum, but wanted to mention my desire to buy here too.

I've been playing for almost 20 yrs and have never owned a strat before. I play Ernie Ball, Carvin, and Yamaha. I don't know why I've never owned a strat. I've always loved them. But now I'm going G&L...Any tips or advice for a newcomer on owning a G&L? Things I need to know? I saw someone mentioning taking the neck off and registering the # underneath. Is this necessary? What's the benefit in doing that?

J

Re: Greetings from Tx! I hope to be a G&L owner soon..have ?'s

Thu May 13, 2010 3:34 pm

Not sure but i think I recognize your handle from my time on the Carvin forums. I don't have any now but I still like 'em.
I've owned a ton of strats including Custom shop. I'm down to one just 'cause i like to keep one Fender around. It's a nice one
but my Legacy gets played a lot more. Not sure I've got tips for you since the Legacy is the only G & L I've ever had the chance to play.
There are some experts here though that will steer you straight.
I will say....as far as tuners go the non-locking Sperzels on my Legacy are really great. I would not let that be a deal breaker.
Welcome...there's good folks here!

Mon May 17, 2010 7:01 am

+1 on the tuners - I can push my whammy down to the deck, multiple times, and still be in tune. And, you can get a set of the correct Sperzels, usually for $60 or less if you just want the convenience.