Greetings from Portugal

Sun Apr 24, 2016 10:53 am

Hi guys!

My name is Joao (John) and I'm a musician/teacher, guitar/violin :) The guitar part is mostly about jazz, my favourite genre.

I know very little about G&L - just the trivia part, actually. But I always loved the looks of G&L guitars and the fact that, just by the photos, they inspired me trust and quality of materials and build. I thought I would buy a Tele type but, yesterday, on a trade, I ended up with this wonderful S-500 on my lap. I had been searching for a Strat with a DF type bridge and so when a guy offered me this one for my Fender Jaguar I jumped in. The Fender is a great guitar and I was apprehensive at first. But after spending the whole day yesterday cleaning and setting it up, and playing it - I'm delighted I did this trade!

I didn't want to plug it into my hand before finishing the whole setup part, but as I was moving along, just by holding it and working on it I was amazed - and am really in love with it - just hope to someday switch to big jumbo frets but that's another stage.

I believe my has what is called a PBT tone control, didn't know about that when I got it! Also it has that little switch that really and dramatically changes the tone - I suppose it must be some sort of series/parallel wiring. Any tips about this will be appreciated :)

OK, let's see if I can share some photos .... or it didn't happen, right? ;) Thanks for reading!

Re: Greetings from Portugal

Sun Apr 24, 2016 11:22 am

Beautiful guitar !!! ..... controls are volume , treble and bass ........ the toggle switch does different stuff depending on pick up selector position ,

toggle switch on (towards the neck) while in pick up selector position 1 or 5 will combine the neck and bridge pick up together at the same time
....selector position 2 and 4 will engage all three pickups at the same time