New here, and kind of clueless!

Sun Apr 27, 2014 8:53 pm

Hi! I briefly read the "read this first" section, but I'm brand new to a forum of this nature, so I couldn't find the introduction area to say hi. Anyway, I'm in the Cincinnati area, and am looking for information regarding a guitar that was given to me by my grandpa prior to his death. I have a G&L SC-2. I'd love to post pictures, but I spotted the tutorial on my way here and couldn't find it again, so I'm not sure how.

It's in a hard case with a "G&L GUITARS AND BASSES FULLERTON, CALIFORNIA" sticker on the outside. I'm not sure if the case is made by the same company as the guitar, but it has a fuzzy, red interior.

The guitar itself looks very little like the Google images that popped up when I typed in the model. It has a maple neck with a dark cherry brown body and is black along the edges of the body. The pieces that the strings rest on (please pardon my ignorance) are black, and the hardware is all silver.

I'm looking for any sort of information I can gather regarding this guitar. I know the SC-2 model was made in 1982 first, and then continued in 1984 and longer, if I'm not mistaken.

Is there a serial number somewhere on this guitar? All I could find was a patent number, which was 4220069 (and listed on those plastic pieces that I don't know the name of.)

Any assistance in determining if I've got a little treasure on my hands is greatly appreciated. I'd love to share a picture if someone could direct me to that link, as well.
Thanks in advance!

Re: New here, and kind of clueless!

Sun Apr 27, 2014 10:40 pm