Hello All

Fri Apr 18, 2014 11:32 am

Just by way of introduction, I've been playing another maker's guitar steadily for the last 13 years(while a long queue of others has come and gone), and yesterday received my first G&L guitar. I've always wanted one, but I guess It was stuck too far back in my mind for me to act upon it.
I'm in my 50th year of playing guitar.

It's a G&L Legacy that Elderly says dates from '97, though it's one of those odd birds with a bass guitar 3 bolt plate on it, with the letter B, rather than G, stamped thereon, and the last 2 digits are 89, which according to what I've read, would date it from 1989,,so I'll have to research this. It came with a wet ink signature of Phyllis Fender certificate of authenticity, 5 allen wrenches, and a users manual, which has come in quite handy. It's quite pristine, with no visible fret wear, no dings, and looks as if it has just come off the show room floor. Nice case too. There is no vibrato arm, but since I'm a hard tail player, that's not an immediate concern. I've read the FAQ on G&L's site about the G/B paradox, in the case of a few guitars.

This forum looks as it it has lots of info herein, and I'm happy to be here.

Re: Hello All

Fri Apr 18, 2014 12:02 pm

Welcome , sounds like that Legacy has found a good home.
The serial #'s on the three bolt ( G0... or B0... ) plates didn't have any specific date information.
There should be stamps in the neck pocket on both the body and neck heel if you ever want to nail down the birthdate,
the Phyllis Cert. should be pretty close to the later date in the neck pocket though.
Hope you can share some pics sometime soon.
...and those vibrato's are pretty nice for most if not all styles, you might find your self using it eventually (I think the online store sells bars that fit the 90's versions).

elwood

Fri Apr 18, 2014 12:22 pm