Long time owner

Sun Mar 09, 2014 8:06 am

Hi guys,

I own an older G&L F100 series I tobacco sunburst guitar that I bought when I was a teenager. I've just recently got back into guitars again and am having fun re-learning the guitar. I was a bit of a hack guitarist as a teenager since I was pretty negligent when it came to practicing and relied way too much on effects pedals. Happy to say that I actually enjoy practicing now and the results are encouraging. It's pretty rewarding. :)

I'm a bit of a woodworker too and I'd like to re-clear coat my guitar but I'm not sure what finish Leo used on these first F100s. The body is stamped SEP 01 1980. Were they all nitro on those earliest models?

Re: Long time owner

Sun Mar 09, 2014 8:46 am

iamz wrote:Hi guys,

I own an older G&L F100 series I tobacco sunburst guitar that I bought when I was a teenager. I've just recently got back into guitars again and am having fun re-learning the guitar. I was a bit of a hack guitarist as a teenager since I was pretty negligent when it came to practicing and relied way too much on effects pedals. Happy to say that I actually enjoy practicing now and the results are encouraging. It's pretty rewarding. :)

I'm a bit of a woodworker too and I'd like to re-clear coat my guitar but I'm not sure what finish Leo used on these first F100s. The body is stamped SEP 01 1980. Were they all nitro on those earliest models?

Welcome! :greet:

Please check out this post: Welcome! Read This First, as it will help you navigate our site
and provides tutorials for posting photos, audio and video clips. This way you can show us photos of your F-100. :searching:

For the answer to your finish question, see this post in our G&L Knowledgebase, General G&L Questions sub-forum: Finish processes, how we did it then by Fred Finisher.

Looking forward to seeing your F-100.

:ugeek:

Sun Mar 09, 2014 9:11 am

iamz wrote:I own an older G&L F100 series I tobacco sunburst guitar that I bought when I was a teenager.