Hi, I'm WitSok and I'm...

Sat Feb 22, 2014 11:16 am

Hi, I'm WitSok (okay I'm actually Dan). Sorry this is not my first post here, but I am relatively new member. Ever since I was 4 years old, I have had a fascinations with guitars. When I was senior in high school I bought a used LP import copy (I don't even recall the brand). However, I never learned to play. About 7 years ago I decided it was time to clear some clutter, so I donated my guitar and amp to Goodwill. I figured I had it for 20 years and hadn't done anything with it, that it was time to go! Well, then my daughter a year later (she was in 1st grade), decided she wanted to play guitar. So she got her first guitar and then she started taking lessons shortly after that. A friend of ours had an acoustic/electric that he wasn't using (kind of like me, just never learned to play) so he gave it to my daughter. It was too big for her at the time. So I started playing around with the acoustic, learning from my daughter and trying to follow along with her lesson material. The bug hit me again big time! About year after my daughter started her lessons, I too started lessons. It has been a blast!

So I have been playing for about four years now. Currently I play with two different praise bands on alternating weekends. That too has been a great experience. As people have come and gone, I have had to step up and challenge myself to do/play things outside of my comfort zone - and I believe that has help me improve quite a bit. Two years ago you would not catch me doing any lead or solo work. I still consider myself a hack, but a hack that is having fun.