New Kid on the Block

Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:11 pm

Hello all, I,m Ron from WV. I have owned a G&L sense Jan. of 1990, and just now found this site. A little on me, I have been playing for about 45 years and I'm still learning. I'm not what you call a Pro but I really enjoy playing and I do know what a good ax is. Through the years I have owned many top brand name guitars, Gibsons, Fenders, etc... I was playing lead in a club in Fairbanks AK in a country band when I first found out about G&L. I was playing a Gibson Les Paul Custom at the time and was satisfied with the exception of the weight. We were doing 6 hour gigs and at the end of the night I felt like someone climbed up on my sholder and sat there. Well, back to the G&L. There was a small music store in town that I dealt with and they had a nice Fender Tele that caught my eye. It was candy apple red and it played great. When I inquired about buying it, the owner said that it was sold so he recommended I try one of these new G&Ls that he just started handling. I picked up my first G&L ASAT and fell in love. I didn't like the color and asked if he could get one in with candy apple red. He said he would order one and call when it came in. I waited for what seemed forever and it was in fact more than 2 months. Finally one day he called and said it was in. When I got there I was a bit dissapointed, it was purple in color. I asked what the problem was with the color and he said that the company was backlogged and that one was supposed to be going to a quitar show and they got tired of him hounding them so they sent that one. Well I took my purple ASAT with rosewood fretboard and Mr. Leo's signiture on the head stalk. It was made in 1989 and I have only seen one other purple one and it had a maple fretboard. That was 24 years ago and it is still here with me. I gave my Les Paul to my Son. This G&L is far and away the best guitar I've owned and played. If anyone out there knows of other purple ASATs pre Leo, maybe you co