Dumb Computer Question

Fri Dec 16, 2011 5:50 pm

Turned on my Toshiba laptop and to my dismay, I now have an inch-wide, white/blank vertical stripe running down the middle of the left half of my computer screen. Just wondering how screwed I might be, and whether anything can be done to remedy the situation. Thanks guys! - ed

Re: Dumb Computer Question

Fri Dec 16, 2011 9:01 pm

Ed, I'm no expert... but I would just drop it a few more times, if that doesn't work trying smacking it, and if all else fails a shotgun will surely do the trick :mrgreen:

Since the screen is still showing white in the area I would guess a video card problem or possibly a loose/worn wire. Try hooking it up to a monitor or TV(if you have a newer lcd type) using the VGA port. Should be on the side or back, multi pin female jack, usually blue. If you have the same problem still it's almost definitely the video card, if not well...then I don't really know could still be vid card or a wire. Hope this helps narrow down the problem for ya.

Have you tried turning it off and then on again? :lol:

Good luck!
-Dave

Fri Dec 16, 2011 9:19 pm

Ed,

Understanding i am the poster child for computer ilituracee, my only suggestion is to try and back up everything you can quickly.

Good luck to ya.

Fri Dec 16, 2011 10:07 pm

It sorta sounds like your LCD went south,
Dave's suggestion would confirm that . I spent a few minutes reading others similar problems and it seems
the consensus is a monitor problem.

http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/forums/1/hel ... op-screen/

Have you sent your letter to Santa yet? ...and more importantly, have you been naughty this year??

Sat Dec 17, 2011 4:15 am

Sounds like the monitor has done an Elvis. If you have a spare TFT or CRT monitor you should be able to hook that up, it will tie you to using the laptop in one location, but will get you by.

Sat Dec 17, 2011 4:53 am