Lunch Report - Monday September 9th

Mon Sep 09, 2013 5:44 am

For those who don't know me, I'm Ken. I live near Annapolis Maryland. I'm mainly a bassist (electric and upright), but I also enjoy playing guitar. I lurked and occasionally posted on the "old" G&LDP back around 2000, but lost track of it for about ten years. I've been back for almost three years now.

Jos is a very hard act to follow as Lunch Reporter. Last week he treated us to some great discussions and gorgeous recent G&Ls. This week I'll stick with older instruments. My collection is at 25 G&Ls now, with all but three of them being from the 1980s. I'll also show off a couple of recent additions to the household that didn't come from Fullerton.

I'll be working from home today, so lunch will be whatever I can scrounge from the refrigerator and pantry. Odds are that I'll end up with a sandwich - probably unsweetened peanut butter on wheat bread, with either some unprocessed local honey or Nutella. The sides will be whatever else I find during the scrounging. Lunch tends to be a productive time for me, so I will usually prepare something quickly and eat it while I work.

Today's G&L is one of my three BBE-era instruments: an L-1500 bass. I haven't checked the dates on this one, but the serial number places is around '99 or '00.

These don't seem to get a lot of attention on the discussion boards and don't show up for sale very often. IMO, these basses are very underappreciated. This bass covers a lot more ground than I was expecting it would. I can vary the tone quite a bit just by changing my right hand position. With my thumb on the neck I can get a reasonable fullness for reggae or dub, but this bass really shines when it's played fingerstyle over the pickup or between the pickup and the bridge. When I go active, I can easily overdrive my B-15 with light fingerstyle playing. The series/parallel switch also makes a huge difference in sound.