Lunch Report For Monday, April 1, 2013

Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:51 pm

Sorry for the delay in getting this posted. It’s been a Monday. All day long!

I am Bill, from Portland, Oregon, USA. I’ve lived here since moving from Seattle in 2002. I am 62 years old, and I have been playing guitar since I was 15—that’s 47 years of GAS! LOL! I learned from the Mel Bay book, “Fun With The Tenor Guitar”, and then moved to a six string a short time later. My mother helped me learn music from the book; she played piano and violin, learning from her father, a concert violinist and cellist.

I was born in Southern Ohio, but moved to Seattle at age ten when my dad got a job working for Boeing Aerospace. He was a precision machinist, and was frozen on the job during WWII because of his skill—working 16-hour days for more than two years. I am so proud of him, he really contributed to the war effort, and it took a toll on his health. My father passed in 1990 and my mother in 1995, both at the age of 85. I owe everything to them, especially when it comes to music. My talents,…everything. They sacrificed so much to make this happen for me, when they had so little. I am eternally grateful.

I learned on a 4-string Stella tenor guitar, with the strings about ½” off the fretboard. My next guitar was a Lyle Classic with a thick plastic finish. I soon acquired a c.1960 Fender Duo-Sonic and a Harmony Sovereign Jumbo flattop. This was around 1965-1967: I am heavily influenced by The Beatles, Stones, Kinks, and other “British Invasion” groups of the era. I didn’t take any formal guitar lessons until I was in college.