Monday Lunch Report 3/18/2013

Mon Mar 18, 2013 4:19 pm

I'll start off with a little about myself. My name is Steve and I've been playing G&L's since 1983. I live in the northwest corner of Missouri and I work as a technician at a small Chevrolet dealership.

Lunch: Leftover corn beef & cabbage!!!

I'm going to share a few photos of my G&L's this week as well as a few non G&L instruments. Let's start with the Asats!

The top one is a '96 Asat Deluxe. The guitar in the middle is a '93 Asat Classic. The bottom guitar is a bit of a mystery. It was made in '95 a year before the Asat Deluxe model officially went into production. I suspect that it's a prototype or employee guitar. I've also been told it was specially built for Guitar Shorty but I don't have any proof. It has some bizarre electronics.

I still haven't completely figured out how the electronics work.

Here's my non G&L Asat style guitars:

The top one is an all stock '74 Telecaster. The bottom guitar is a parts Telecaster. Most of the parts are from 1978.

Guitar Question: How important is country of manufacture to you?

Re: Monday Lunch Report 3/18/2013

Mon Mar 18, 2013 4:28 pm

Glad your up this week Steve. Your leftover lunch sounds great to me I love it! We had some at our gig on Saturday evening.

Beautiful Asats Steve. The Blueburst is really interesting. Must have been a special build of some type. I wonder if G&L has any build records on it. Nice Teles too! I'll bet that 74 is sweet. They were still building some good Fenders. I looked at a 79 Strat Anniversary some time back and the QC had really gone by the wayside at that time. It was almost perfect but I passed on it ultimately. Have you been to Alex recently? -- Darwin

Mon Mar 18, 2013 4:42 pm

darwinohm wrote: