2-11-13 Lunch Report- Its Monday!

Mon Feb 11, 2013 11:17 am

Lunch- I just brought a banana for lunch- I'm trying to cut back.

bassman background- My name is Bill and there were a lot of Bill's on this board at one time so I usually go by bassman. I have been posting to this board on and off since 2002. I lurked for a while and then joined in. This will be my 12th time doing the LR, I think, and I am trying to keep it interesting.
I am a bass player and I have enjoyed G&L basses since 1989 when i bought my first G&L, a used 1980
L-1000.
I am married,I have 3 kids in their late 20's now and two of them have left home and bought their own houses. My youngest is still living at home.

I play in two bands currently and I work on my own basses doing setups and repairs as needed. I really enjoy working on instruments and because of this I have bought some basket case basses just to see if I can bring them back to a useful existence.

Questions for today:

Do you work on your own bass or guitar? To what degree?

Have you ever repaired your G&L?

Have ever sent your guitar of bass back to the factory for a warranty adjustment or repair?

Re: 2-11-13 Lunch Report- Its Monday!

Mon Feb 11, 2013 11:37 am

Lunch today was 'boil for 3 minutes' Mushroom Tortellini, with lashings of Olive oil and lots of grated cheese over the top.

I'm happy doing all my own (and friends) set-up work but I leave anything electrical to a friend who knows what he is doing. Major repair work I would leave to a good tech too. They have to make a living!

I've only had my G&L ASAT Deluxe for 6 weeks and it's as new, so no repairs needed, and hopefully there won't be for a long time! This guitar is going to be treated gently and played mostly at home I expect. I am looking out for another older one though....

It's a bit far from the UK to send a guitar back to the factory - I expect I would use someone I trusted here for any work that I couldn't do myself.

12 time Lunch Report veteran! :alright: :D