Lunch Report Monday, 15-Oct

Mon Oct 15, 2012 8:54 am

I'm Ricky Thompson and I've been on this forum since the early 90s after I purchased my first G&L. That guitar was a sunburst George Fullerton Legacy with skinny fret wire and very pronounced v-neck. It was a great sounding guitar and steered me into a brand that I still own today.

I'm a project manager by profession. In fact, I just attended a weekend training seminar on a new project scheduling application called Merlin. Merlin runs native on the Mac platform which is good because now I don't have to launch a Wxp VM just to run Microsoft Project.

In my spare time, I play guitar in a Blues and Classic Rock band called TightSqueeze. We've had a busy schedule this year and have already played 31 gigs. For us that is a lot.

Today's topic is going to be amplifiers. I love amps, and, at one point had way more amps than guitars. I sold off most of my amps over the years and have recently started building back the inventory. I posted this picture last week of my current amp collection. Missing from this is an additional Super Champ and a Top Hat Portly Cadet.

The Top Hat on the end is my most recent acquision and is a Club Royal. It is an EL84 1x12 combo voiced somewhere between a Marshall and a Vox. It has the chiminess and shimmer like a Vox but very ballsy in the midrange like a Marshall.

Here are some of my previous G&L guitars and amps:

The only guitar in that picture that I still have is the Legacy HB in Red Mahogany. I had a matching ASAT but could never take to it so I sold it.

Let's see your amps!

RickT

Re: Lunch Report Monday, 15-Oct

Mon Oct 15, 2012 9:54 am

Most of my amps are now gone although I still have a blonde Tremolux, Uni-Music era Ampeg G12 and G20 running 7591's, Supro T16, and Gibson GA-8T. Ed might know a couple of these :)

Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:52 pm