Monday 4/23 Lunch Report

Mon Apr 23, 2012 9:02 am

It's lunchtime someplace….

It's been nearly 2 years since I've done this, so a re-intro might be in order. My handle is my name, or vice-versa. I've been around this joint for a few years, well before GbL V2 launched. I'm a geek-for-hire by trade, supporting small businesses locally. I also own & run the bass-specific site BassesByLeo as well as its forum. You're all welcome to join us over there. I can even add a guitar forum!

Lunch today will be…. Well, who the hell knows? My day job could find me pretty much anywhere in Orange County, CA or the LA County South Bay & Long Beach. I might have something from the home fridge. Or if I'm between site visits, maybe a sandwich while sitting and watching airplanes come and go at LGB.

As we stagger through the week, I'm going to try to touch on the following topics:

Monday - Physical design and materials.
    Tuesday - Construction basics
    Wednesday - Electronics and mods
    Thursday - Basic instrument photography
    Friday - Pics of your instruments

Today let's gab a bit about design. Last Friday Bassman wondered why technologies such as the Steinberger headless bass didn't take off. Lots of things about the instrument made sense; composite materials, tuning stability, modern electronics, etc. Yet because of its looks it remained, and remains, the odd man out. There are other examples of forward-looking guitars & basses that just kind of languished. Some have a kind of cult status. There could be any number of reasons. Whattaya think?

And what direction are things headed now? The basic Strat & Tele (and Precision & Jazz) have so many incarnations from so many manufacturers that one is pretty much indistinguishable from another - at least visually at first glance.

Finally…

What is it about the original designs of Leo Fender and George Fullerton that have stuck to our psyche so tenaciously for all these decades?

Discuss.