Lunch Report- May 31, 2011-Last day of May!

Tue May 31, 2011 7:31 am

Lunch- It might have to be a Five guys burger and fries today, I haven’t decided yet.

I should re-introduce myself to all of the new members of this board.
My name is Bill, I am 58 years old and I live north of Washington D.C. In a Maryland suburb and I have a wife and three children, a son and two daughters.
My kids are all in their mid–twenties and out of school. Two have left home so that is leaving me more time with my wife and hopefully more time to play bass. I have been posting to this board since 2002 and I love playing my G&L basses but I also love repairing any old and neglected bass to bring it back to a useful condition.

This brings me to today’s bass project:

A few years ago I was in my favorite Music Store and I saw a Spector bass with a broken truss rod.
The bass was priced to move so I brought it and took it home to see if I could salvage the pickups or try to fix the neck.
I contacted Spector and they will repair the truss rod for $75 bucks if I ship the bass to their shop in New York.
I considered this to be a very reasonable offer since I have no warranty and this is one of the European made Spector NS2 models and they know of this problem with the bass.
I also want to see if I can do this myself.
I look on these projects as learning opportunities and as such I decided to investigate weather the rod could be removed by loosening it and pulling it out of the neck without removing the fingerboard.
This is the big advantage of a double-acting truss rod. It has no connection to the wood in the neck and since it is independent they should be removable from the neck by pulling it out of the adjustment hole in the end of the neck.
I took the chance and pulled the rod out with a pair of needle nose pliers!
Here are some pictures to show what this looks like:
Here is a body shot of the bass:
Here is the bass with the truss rod beside it: