Lunch Report - Friday, May 13, 2011

Fri May 13, 2011 12:07 pm

Where did the week go? It’s hard to believe on Monday I was a rookie lunch reporter trying to find five days’ worth of material to keep you entertained. Hopefully I didn’t overly bore you with my lengthy excursions into the culinary and musical arts.

I’m happy to announce that next week’s Lunch Reporter will be AHRYN. I am very much looking forward to his posts.

Today’s lunch was a bit of a treat, cheese and broccoli ravioli in tomato mushroom sauce served au gratin with a coating of broiled mozzarella. Actually, it took me almost as long to type that than to assemble the meal.

Gibsonless Pa
I was living at home when I got my first electric guitar, the Gibson Sonnex 180 I mentioned in yesterday’s report. A friend who bought it but who never played it sold it to me for $100, which was a pretty good deal considering it’s $300 price tag at the time. There were two issues: The top left corner headstock horn had cracked leaving exposed wood and the case was a homemade affair he’d assembled in woodshop, as opposed to a real wooden case.

I couldn’t resist such a bargain but I knew that if I asked for parental permission to bring it home, the answer would be a resounding no. So I went ahead and bought it, carried it home on the subway and bus, dreading the drama that was about to unfold.

When I stepped into the kitchen, meekly clutching the case, my mother scowled, “Is that what I think it is?”

“If you think it’s an electric guitar, then yes.” I replied, being the smartass that I was.

She turned to my father and said, “He brought home an electric guitar! Do something!”

My dad sighed and asked me to show him the guitar. I set the case on the kitchen floor at his feet and opened it. He looked down, was silent for few seconds, then looked up at me and said, “Gibson. They make good guitars,” and that was the end of that.