Just another Manic Monday

Sun Nov 14, 2010 9:37 pm

[youtube]67E42LQsU24[/youtube]

Allow myself to introduce……myself. My name is Phil. :greet: I feel like a new kid up the front of the classroom waiting to be hit with a paper aeroplane. But everyone seems nice around here so I'm not real worried.

I'm a chemist by training and work at a biotech company in Melbourne, Australia that develops anti-flu drugs. I've been playing guitar on and off since I was 5 years old, but only started taking a keen interest in my late teens.

Thanks to Jamie for putting together such an entertaining series of lunch reports over the last week. It is indeed my humble honour to have this second highest honour bestowed on me, being a relative newb and all. In fact I’m not that new – I used to hang around on the old board but didn't re-register till recently.

Lunch
Lunch today is a sandwich of 7 grain bread filled with roasted capsicum dip, double smoked ham, tomato, mature cheddar cheese, cucumber and rocket lettuce. It looks kind of healthy and my body is urging me to buy some fries to have with it. Surprisingly it tastes pretty good. The roast capsicum dip comes to the fore and makes the whole thing nice and zingy.

Dessert is an apple and the first juicy peach of the season. Bring on the summer fruits….. This was all washed down with a cup of black Bushell’s tea. Caffeine is my friend today due to my 2 y.o. daughter hollering between 1-3 am last night.

Non G&L Topic
Jamie outed me earlier as another Aussie, and I think he’s cleared up a lot of the mythology regarding Australia – walking upside down, white pointer sharks in the swimming pool and hunting crocodiles etc. etc.

I don’t believe he mentioned that Foster’s beer is not widely consumed in Australia, or that we don’t often throw shrimps on the barbie. When we do, we call them prawns and not shrimp. The water also spins down the plug hole in the other direction here. No joke.