Easy Monday!

Sun Nov 07, 2010 10:39 pm

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!THEME TUNE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hello all and a big thanks to Chris for a great week of reports and for nominating me to be the lunch reporter for this week.

I’ll start by introducing myself – My name is Jamie, I’m 28 years old I’m studying Electrical Engineering. In fact, I had my last exam for the year on Friday and am now on my summer holidays! It’s been a long, hard year! I live in Melbourne, Australia. For those of you unfamiliar with Australian geography, Melbourne is in the south east of Australia at the innermost part of a large bay. It’s the second largest city in Australia, behind Sydney. It has an incredibly vibrant and varied music scene and is the music capital of Australia. On any given night you can go out and see some fantastic musicians playing jazz, blues, country, Latin, soul, metal whatever music you wish. The surrounding countryside produces some of Australia’s best Pinot Noir and Chardonnay (I enjoy wine immensely!) as well as a lot of great fruit and vegetable crops. Has anyone ever visited Melbourne (or indeed anywhere in Australia) or does anyone else live here?

I play a lot of different styles of music. I started out playing heavy metal, like most kids do, when I was 14. Nowadays my tastes are somewhat different with a lean to what has been branded as roots music – blues, country, soul, jazz etc though I still thoroughly enjoy rocking out to some metal, alas I must do that by myself through headphones these days as nobody I hang out with likes it! I play in a soul band doing covers of some fairly obscure but great ‘northern soul’ and jump blues songs in a band with some very talented musicians. I also play in a Country duo that will become a trio once the pedal steeler gets back from his European jaunt. I’m really happy to finally be playing country music with other people, it’s something I’ve wanted to do for a long time but have never met anyone else interested.