Monday Lunch Report

Mon Oct 18, 2010 9:23 am

Hello Everyone, for those who haven't heard me yammering constantly, my name is Kyle. I am a student of geotechnical engineering and am currently working on my Master's of applied science. My bachelors is in civil engineering (der I guess) and I decided to specialize a little further in the terrible economy so when I do come out, I have an edge. My research is in numerical modeling of soils. I am a young punk at the 24, Most of you are probably old enough to be my father :happy0007:.

Today for lunch I ate a bagel, pretty boring but not much around right now. I am on a tiff where I am burnt out on sandwiches. Probably a coffee in the near future (#2). My afternoon will involve doing some work reading about finite elements and variational calculus, followed by guitar practice, followed by going to play some Dungeons and Dragons with a large group of more engineers.

So for G&L content, I will give a rough review of my first G&L. I will likely go into specific parts and such in detail later this week, as I don't know what G&L stuff to talk about otherwise. I am not a history, nor a vintage instrument buff, so I will work with what I have. I received a flawless ASAT special just last tuesday. For those who have not seen it, here it is (and shame on you).

It is pretty non standard, #3 neck, graphite nut, locking tuners, painted headstock etc. I like how well the plain black (1 ply) pick guard looks on it. I was not expecting myself to like it and had something lined up with a pick guard maker, but I do not want to mod it any more in that sense. The finish is awesome. No pin marks to be seen. The piece of ash is excellent with lots of character, and all the good stuff is not covered by the pick guard or controls (pretty straight on that side). I bought it as I loved the fit and feel of G&Ls from the first touch. This is my first, I doubt it will be my last.