Lowender Lunch Report -Wed 10-13-10

Wed Oct 13, 2010 1:24 pm

Good afternoon,
I'm a little late today, I was up later than normal watching the Chilean miner rescue,
it's amazing we can locate and rescue folks trapped over 2,000 feet under the ground.

Lunch for me will be light, maybe just a PB&J on homemade sourdough wheat with Almond milk .

I thought I'd keep the tradition of Bass themes on Wednesdays going.
I started playing a little bass when I started home recording with a Fostex 4-track (in the late 80's), that allowed me a little comfort with the instrument... so when opportunities to play bass in a band came up I could step in.
I have learned alot since then about the function of the bass in a live situation...and have learned to really appreciate bassists who hold down the beat with easy going minimalistic playing, especially if they are playing with fingers as opposed to a pick.
I'm not yet one of those guys but I'll keep at it.

I don't usually hear about what the lowenders here are using for amplification,
so if you are inclined , please don't hesitate to share.

Here's a picture of my current bass rig:

My signal path is :
Tuner> GrooveTubes Trio preamp > Alembic F-1X preamp
>Alembic SF-2 equalizer> Lexicon MX400 digital effects > Stewart World 2.1 power amp

...after the F1-X the signal is split with an active crossover , the Lows are sent to the 15" JBL on the bottom and the highs are sent to the Eminence 12" on the top.

I added the Trio preamp to the rig for because the crunch channel produces one of the best bass overdrive sounds I've heard..plenty of bottom end ( I have to dial the bass back a bit usually) and balls to wall smooth distortion for our heavier tunes. It was designed for guitar , I know Jerry Garcia used them in the late 80's for the pristine clean sound they give in the clean channel.