Tuesday Lunch Report 10-12-10

Tue Oct 12, 2010 10:36 am

Good morning,

Thanks for all the replies yesterday.

Lunch for me today will be an Amy's veggie burrito (maybe two), with a SanPellegrino sparkling orange to drink. I've been enjoying these lately, no HFCS or artificial coloring etc.etc., which makes me happy, its tasty enough that I might be tempted to drink it even if it had Soylent green as an ingredient :mrgreen:

Even though I've been playing guitar for about 30 years and I might have called myself a guitarist all that time , it's only been the last 5 or so years that I've really learned what it takes to get that tone experience I had been craving all those years.
It's hard to admit at times , but I didn't understand the importance of proper intonation until about 5 years ago. Once I got a handle on the concept I was able to set-up guitars that just didn't sound right in the upper register ( I had just thought that the guitar wasn't built well ),
and all of a sudden I was in tune (most of the time) and could play sweet sounds that didn't fight against each other.
This led to learning about the facets of a good set-up and I was excited about playing music again.
I bought a few tube amps and again my musical world opened up again. I was excited to play and practice. For the first twenty or so years I always had some crappy solid state amp with a chain of effects and I didn't know any better.
When I talk to folks who want to take up guitar one of the first things I do is make sure they understand the importance of a properly set-up guitar . I've paid people to set-up my instruments before I learned myself and it was hit or miss. I probably sold instruments that had a set-up that wasn't ideal for me that I would have kept and loved if I had known more about tweeking action,intonation,etc.