Monday Lunch Report From Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Mon Aug 16, 2010 7:10 am

I'll start off with an introduction for the newer forum members who may not know me. My name is Steve and I live in the northwest corner of Missouri. I'm an automotive technician (aka: mechanic) at a Chevrolet dealership. My hobbies are sprint car racing, ATV's, and guitar. I've been a crew member with a racing team for 20 years.

I'm on vacation for a couple of days and I'm following the ASCS Sprint Bandits tour this week. Yesterday I made the 5 hour drive to Sioux Falls and attended the race at Rapid Speedway in Rock Rapids, Iowa. Today, I'm headed to Greenwood, Nebraska.

Guitars: Fender's 50's era custom colors were automotive colors. Are there any modern automotive colors that you would like to see on a G&L?

Sprinter 92

Sprint car photos:

Re: Monday Lunch Report From Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Mon Aug 16, 2010 8:01 am

As far as car paints I like on guitars, CAR has to be a favourite. I am also quite partial to silver metallic. I prefer large metal flake guitars, mostly due to how they play with light though. And generally I choose trans colours, as I love the look of wood more than anything. So in short, G&L already offers the 'car' colours that I like, maybe a little of an orangier copper metallic would be cool?
(Freaking spell check and underlining all my words with 'extra' u's in em.)

Mon Aug 16, 2010 8:55 am

Nice ride! The ASCS Gulf South Regional is coming up. I may go this weekend to the Golden Triangle Raceway Park.

Colors: I want an indigo sparkle. That deep color with big crunchy sparkles would be nice...

Mon Aug 16, 2010 9:08 am

Off the top of my head, I can't think of any modern car colors I'd like to see on guitars. I would, however, like to see more modern cars adopt those old school colors!

Mon Aug 16, 2010 10:14 am

Hey Sprinter,

You still plugging into that Rivera Venus amp?