help with S-500 wiring

Wed Nov 24, 2010 8:05 pm

Hi, I bought a used S-500 that had had it's wiring changed to a typical strat style ( the guy did a poor job ) anyway, I want to bring it back to original, and have ordered all new pots and switches so I can start clean. In trying to locate an easy to read wiring diagram I had no luck. The guitar, I was told is from about 1996 or 97.

The diagrams here really don't tell me much, but I noticed the Legacy has a very similar diagram that is clearer. For the wiring for the 5 way switch I found another diagram. In short, I have pieced together from a few different things I found, and would love it if someone who understands circuits can tell me if I have everything right. I have drawn up a diagram to the best of my knowledge.

Can someone let me know if this is correct. Please note the cap values as I am new to this and have tried my best using what I have learned about deciphering what is stamped on caps ( and like I said, I got my info from several different sources on the internet.)

well I guess photobucket has a size restriction...I could email a high res image if you wanted to print it...it would be much clearer.

Re: help with S-500 wiring

Wed Nov 24, 2010 10:13 pm

I've been going through the same process. My S-500 (the one in my avatar) had the original MFD pickups installed in a Legacy pickguard with Legacy wiring. I contacted the guy I bought it from who kindly e-mailed me a photo of the original S-500 wiring which he had installed in another guitar. I don't know if this will help you.....

Your wiring diagram looks correct, except for a missing 2nd capacitor on the bass pot. This 2nd cap is not installed on Legacy's, only S-500's. I believe its function is to reduce noise/interference. I've yet to install it on my guitar but will do it the next time I change strings. My S-500 is quite noisy so hopefully the cap will help.