G&L ASAT SPECIAL

Wed Oct 20, 2010 1:15 am

Hi all, this is my introductory post & unfortunately it is not a happy one. I am a luthier of some 45 years experience based in Northern Ireland. One of my long standing customers brought his new purchase ASAT SPECIAL to me for a setup. I am bound to say that I am not impressed at all. One of the neck screws is shorter than the others & just spins, not gripping at all. The other 3 screws have been "plugged" with wood to make them grip. Not glued in but just poked in thru' the body. The 4 neck screw holes in the body are irregular in shape and appear to have been "hand filed" after drilling. The neck rout is very rough & altho' there is an inspection tag, it is not possible to read the signature. There are black marks under the neck lacquer & in my opinion, the nut slot is not deep enough. I will accept that this "made in Indonesia" instrument may not be the same quality as U.S. ones but not worth the [amount] paid. I advised the owner to return it but he declined & asked me to sort it.
I will re-fit the neck properly with stainless steel neck screws from Allparts & make the guitar servicable as instructed by my customer. I can only hope that this is a "one off" and not an indication of general shoddy workmanship.
Guitar ser. No. 090823397 .
Last edited by Craig on Wed Oct 20, 2010 8:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: edited out the actual price posted as this violates our policy

Re: G&L ASAT SPECIAL

Wed Oct 20, 2010 9:17 am

Your impression is certainly understandable given the condition you describe.
However, this does not sound like a brand new Tribute but rather an abused
used instrument or poorly assembled parts guitar. The fact that your customer
declines to return it to the dealer under the two year manufacturer warranty,
is telling to me. There are a number of individuals on eBay who part out G&L
Tribute instruments and therefore, buyers of these parts, can assemble parts