Fullerton Deluxe S-500, Comanche, or Skyhawk?

Thu May 05, 2022 2:03 pm

I'm currently in the market for a Fullerton Deluxe of some kind, particularly of the single coil variety. I really like the idea of the versatility of MFDs, but I'd like to be able to get some pretty convincing vintage strat type tones, as well. Which model do you all think I should go with? My biggest limitation is that all of my guitar spending money is tied up in Amazon gift cards, so my selection is limited (and getting more limited and pricier by the day). I just noticed that several guitars I was looking at went up about $300. Youchies. Anyway, any insight would be greatly appreciated. I was foolishly going to get a Fender AmPro II Strat, but I don't really like the V-Mod II pickups, and I'd rather get something Leo approved. Thanks!

Re: Fullerton Deluxe S-500, Comanche, or Skyhawk?

Thu May 05, 2022 3:08 pm

I'm no expert, I have one G&L ... and it's in a FedEx truck! But, in all the research I did about the Comanche, everyone agreed on one thing: You can make it sound very similar to a Strat, but not exactly the same.

I think you will need to listen to some good demos to decide if any MFD guitars will give you the sound that you are looking for.

That said, the Skyhawk sure looks nice!

Thu May 05, 2022 3:18 pm

Would recommend a used legacy with the clf-100 pups.

Thu May 05, 2022 3:44 pm

Horseflesh wrote:I'm no expert, I have one G&L ... and it's in a FedEx truck! But, in all the research I did about the Comanche, everyone agreed on one thing: You can make it sound very similar to a Strat, but not exactly the same.

I think you will need to listen to some good demos to decide if any MFD guitars will give you the sound that you are looking for.

That said, the Skyhawk sure looks nice!