Help me figure out the awesome V12

Tue Oct 06, 2020 6:37 am

I am a novice guitar player with limited experience so please bare with me.
I recently purchased a Doheny V12 because it seems so versatile and is gorgeous. Earlier in the year I came into possession of a G&L ASAT Classic Bluesboy Tribute. I was very impressed with the quality and playability of the guitar and the superb customer service (thanks Memo) so when I saw the V12 in clear blue I did not think twice about buying it.
Here is my dilemma:
The pamphlet that came with the guitar has minimal information on the controls. I would appreciate receiving some guidance on the various controls and the purpose. For instance, I know that the micro switches toggle between series, single and parallel but I am overwhelmed figuring out when it is desirable to use each setting. Add in the tone knobs and it just gets more complex!
My lack of experience with electric guitars is evident. I would appreciate it greatly if experienced players, especially other V12 owners could coach me up with some pointers.
TIA,
Robert

Re: Help me figure out the awesome V12

Tue Oct 06, 2020 7:30 am

These videos might help to point you in the right direction:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cih636QCaxg

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I3KtFJISt6Y

Tue Oct 06, 2020 8:47 am

Or this page from Yowhatsshakin's awesome website. http://www.yowhatsshakin.com/yowhatssha ... ucker.html

Fri Oct 09, 2020 5:05 am

Thank you for the links. I have watched the youtubes before but I need to watch a few more times to get a grip on what is being offered.

I would like to know technically what the difference between parallel and series is. How does the physical wiring effect the tone?

Can the PTB pots be used to alleviate the need to adjust tones from the amp or does the amp adjust whatever the guitar inputs to the pre-amp circuit?

Perhaps what I really need is a basic tutorial on electric guitars...

Fri Oct 09, 2020 6:34 am