Knob Removal

Sun Feb 02, 2020 12:44 am

I'm curious to know whether others have also experienced problems removing the knobs on their control pots?

In the past seven months I've purchased two Tributes, a 2018 Kiloton Bass and a 2019 ASAT Special. The knob on the tone control of the Kiloton can be easily removed by hand but not the volume control knob. On the ASAT neither can be removed by hand. I've never before purchased an instrument with control knobs that defy being removed and now I have two of them.

In fact when the ASAT arrived the knob on volume pot was scraping the control plate so badly it was preventing the knob from completing it's travel and shutting down the volume pot. Using a pair of padded pliers I was able to lift it a couple of mm and enough clear the control plate so that the pot would operate normally. But even this took a significant amount of strength and effort.

I've been working on my own instruments for over 30 years and in my judgement exerting anymore upward pressure on those knobs with pliers than I did would have risked pulling the shaft right out of the pot. In fact a good friend with a US Kiloton had this happen to him and a friend whose a G&L dealer also had the same experience at the G&L shop and in both cases the pots and pickguards were destroyed.

I understand G&L is converting to higher grade solid shaft pots on it's US production models but as of yet there's no indication of what and when they plan to offer a solution to Tribute owners. IMHO this is a design/engineering/manufacturing issue that will need to be corrected before anyone will be able to replace a broken pot, simply swap one for another or in the case of the Kiloton replace the pickguard if they wish as I do.

Craig, have you or others ever experienced this and do you have any further information on a planned remedy?

Re: Knob Removal

Sun Feb 02, 2020 9:01 am

Here is my recommendation: