ASAT Z-3 Bridge Pickup Options

Sun Feb 24, 2019 10:22 pm

Hello,

First post. I think........ I tried before and it didn't seem to go through.

Anyway, I have a post 92 USA ASAT Z-3 along with a couple Tribute models I've modded extensively. In this Z-3, the neck position sounds great. Positions 2, 3, and 4 are quite usable, though number 4 isn't the best. The bridge pickup sound is about useless. It's light years away from the richness of Fralins I'm used to in most of my the other gigging axes. And please, no "suggestions" on making this bridge Z-3 work. I'm a pro player and you just simply cannot EQ, height adjust, tone pot adjust, pedal, or re-cap your way out of this level of tone suck. Overdriven, this pickup is lacking in all respects and even clean it lacks sweetness.

So, I really like the guitar neck, hardware, and fit and finish. But I do need a good bridge pickup. The axe has a swimming pool route so pickup options are wide open.

Is there anyone out there who can make a pickguard with an H-H configuration that will no doubt fit a post 92 USA ASAT Z-3? I'll drop a Fralin Big Single in the neck and Fralin High Output humbucker in the bridge (with push pull tap) and boom, problem solved. My main band and other axes are setup for Eb tuning. I need this guitar in my side bands that tune to E standard several times in the next few months and don't want to go through stripping and taking the pickguard off for tracing if I don't have to.

Is there anyone out there who can slam dunk get me H-H pickguard that will fit this USA ASAT Z-3 without needing the old guard or a trace?

Thanks,

Chris

Re: ASAT Z-3 Bridge Pickup Options

Sun Feb 24, 2019 10:42 pm

redbird69 wrote:Hello,

First post. I think........ I tried before and it didn't seem to go through.